Lap-Band or RNY?

katchikat
on 8/30/10 2:26 pm - Methuen, MA

I know that it is a personal choice, but I would love to hear from you: Which WLS  you did and why you choose this surgery type. I am a newbie and have my first appointment on 09/22, sometime I want to do the RNY and other time I want to do the Lapband. I am sooooo confused! I research day and night ! but I am also exicited. Please help!!!!!!!! Thank you

LisaBC86
on 8/30/10 9:58 pm - Bridgewater, MA
You're doing the research and you know it's a personal choice so no harm in asking why /how otheres chose.

For me - I had RNY and there were 2 major reasons :
1. The RNY had better stats on diabetes control and that was more main reason for contemplating the surgery.
2. the idea of the port being in me - was just not something I could handle - as well as the frequent trips in for fills - just not something I felt I would be committed to doing comforably.

I am happy to report that I have been off my diabetes meds almost from the get go and my diabetes is under control ! YEAH !

Highest (that I know of) 285  Weight when I started the process 277
Night before surgery 263
  Goal weight 160

Smile ! You'll make the world a happier place !
Inspriational video "Strive for Perfection, Settle with Excellence !
OH Support Group Leader
katchikat
on 8/30/10 10:56 pm - Methuen, MA
Thank you Lisa!!!! Congratulations on your weight lost!!!! That is good to know that you are healthier now.
Lynn C
on 8/30/10 10:57 pm
make sure you check out the revision and regrets forums - if you're going to the surgery forums your going to mostly run into the people that are still happy with there surgery.  You should chose based on what you need to get out of surgery, how you eat and what you and your doctor feel fits you best.