Newbie Here

katd70
on 4/23/10 9:26 am - Stoughton, MA
Hey there - this is my first post and I have a question about my diet post-op. I am having surgery Monday 4/26 at St. E's, and went shopping today for what I will need post-op. I was looking at the yogarts, I know they list greek yogart as something we can have but all the one's I saw had too much sugar in them. Can anyone give suggestions on what I can eat and not eat? I want to make sure I am getting enough protein.
Thanks All!
RedSox15
on 4/23/10 10:29 am - MA
Welcome!!  Congratulations on your WLS journey!! 

The greek yogurt is great!  Yes it is higher in sugar but since it is so high in protein it is OK to eat.  I asked my nutritionist this same question and she assured me it was OK.  I do not dump on the sugar (BUT I don't ever dump, so I'm not the best one to judge on that - lol.)  Egg beaters are awesome.  At first I was grossed out thinking about eggs coming out a carton but they taste just like the real eggs.  I actually had them for dinner tonight and I melt Kraft Fat Free Mozzarella cheese in them - soooo yummy.  I also put a little reduged sugar ketchup on them - I just can't seem to give up ketchup.

Dannon's Light and Fit yogurts are equally as yummy!  They are much lower in sugar and you can add some unflavored protein powder in them.  I did that the first couple of weeks.

Welcome to the boards - the gals on here are terrific!!!!! 
*Kate*
 HW: 286 SW: 253 CW: 167 GW: 150 

lisa1974
on 4/23/10 10:48 am - Brockton, MA

Hello and welcome

i ate the chobani vanilla greek yogurt right after surgery and had no dumping
after about 1 week out i liked to try diffrent protien shakes i only got chocolate and vanilla
before surgery so i would add sugar free syrup to the vanilla and a teaspoon of peanut butter
to the chocolate for a bit of variety

katd70
on 4/23/10 11:01 am - Stoughton, MA