hello all, newbie here

s0ftballgurrl77
on 2/18/10 1:38 am - Waltham, MA
i have been reading the posts here for about 3 months but have never actually posted anything. i dont really have anything earth shattering to say (gasp!) but i just wanted to say hello to everyone and that i think your all doing a great job! 

i met with the surgeon yesterday for the second time and got a surgery date... march 8th... thats in 3 weeks!  im excited and nervous all at the same time.  im looking for any good tips or suggestions about how to deal with the nervous feelings. 

thanks,
MB
Mara C.
on 2/18/10 1:46 am - Millbury, MA
Congratulations!  All I can think of is to tell you to follow your surgeon's orders to the "t" and it will all be fine.  Good luck to you, and hope you speak up more! ;)  There are a lot of great people here with a lot of great knowledge.  I'll be thinking of you 3/8 (it's the day after my daughter's birthday!)  Let us know how things go!
              LW-Apple-Gold-Small.jpg image by PlicketyCat      RNY Maintenance

"Create your day"
tauntonredsox33
on 2/18/10 2:17 am - Taunton, MA
Welcome MB !!!!
The day will be here b4 you know it!  How exciting!!! 
Yes follow your surgoen's orders and you will be just fine!!!
Keep us posted
Melissa
Melissa M. 
HW 250/SW 217/CW 117/ 1st GW 133/ 2nd GW 117
        Reached my goal!!!!!!  
Sue M.
on 2/18/10 3:03 am - Nantucket, MA
Hi there - from a Waltham neighbor! 

My advice:  ask questions.  ask here, ask your doctor, your nut, your PCP, anyone.  Information is good for you.

Nervous/excited is normal.  You're doing a big thing, changing your whole life, and it will be worth it, but it's scary and exciting at the same time.  Keep busy these next few weeks making sure your house is stocked with things you'll need (chewable vitamins, protein samples, etc).  I know it flew by for me.

Also, start practicing sipping, chewing, putting your fork down between bites.  Sounds silly, but it's never too early to practice that!