Anyone pull a Star Jones?

thinsomeday
on 6/23/09 1:38 am - webster, MA
Hey crew -

I was just wondering if anyone either did or is choosing to not tell anyone about the surgery?  My husband and maybe 5 friends know (3 of whom has surgery).   I am really on the fence about telling my a-type super judgemental met her goal on WW's mom.  I am not sure if it is that I am embarrassed, or know that people will watch my every move around food and scrutinize my body the whole way, or that I don't want to be the poster child for anyone...yet.  Also, I don't discuss my weight and I can't imagine a "oh - but the way i am having surgery" fitting into a conversation at work.  I am a nurse and can't imagine the judgement from nurses and doctors (i don't really care what they think, but just don't feel like being the topic of discussion - or to hear them complain I will be our for a few weeks.  Argh!  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  Oh, and I am in therapy for my eating issues and we discuss this often...but am always left with "do what you feel is right"  I get that, but not sure still!
Thanks!
dragonfly777
on 6/23/09 2:24 am
My family knows, I asked my hubby not to tell his family.  My boss at work knows but no one else and I go back to work in 2 weeks and no doubt they will notice that I have lost some weight. Still not sure I will fess up. I was doing protein shakes for breakfast and lunch and they all saw that so I might just say I am still doing that and have cut out carbs etc.

still on the fence on it all.

poodlemama
on 6/23/09 3:00 am - MA
I told a few close friends and my boss. I did not want to hear all the reasons why i shouldn't do it, or horror stories that someone heard third hand. When you go back to work, people will suspect, but the bottom line is that it's no one's business but yours. And the few times I was asked if I had the surgery, I told people I thought it was rude to even ask.
If I wanted them to know, I would have told them.