Quick question about pre-op weight loss

shygurl87
on 6/4/09 3:15 am - Fall River, MA
I can't seem to reach the nutritionist so I figured I'd ask you guys.... I had my first nutritionist appt on the 18th of may and am due for my 2nd appt on the 30th of this month. My question is do I need to try to start losing weight now  before I go to my 2nd appt or if i'm having a hard time is that something that i can wait til the pre-op liquid diet to worry about. I'm just wondering how early I should start practicing everything that they tell you. As I said i have my second nut appt on the 30th and my 2nd psych appt on the 16th. If anyone can give me some advice as to when I should start the exercise, protein shakes, etc it'd be greatly appreciated. I don't know if I'm starting too early but after my first nut appt I started practicing the chewing thing and upping my water intake and a few other things. Ok well enough blabbing.....

Thanks

Jess

Muffin22
on 6/4/09 3:30 am
The sooner the better the more you loose now will show the Dr. and the insurance company you're committed to this new lifestyle.  Getting into the habit of exercising now will help you after come out, you'll already be doing what you're suppose to be doing then which makes it easier.  It's only a tool that better you use it the better your success will be.    Good luck.
AwesomeForever
on 6/4/09 3:49 am - Marlborough, MA
As you lose weight you shrink the internal organs...like the liver that is over your stomach. It helps the surgeon to operate with your weight loss.

I would say go for it; now is the time to get your groove on! Exercise could just mean walking purposefully extra steps can mean so much.

Linda
jdr1208
on 6/5/09 2:27 am - Worcester, MA