I guess I should have done this first

Lisa1483
on 5/24/09 2:29 pm - Revere, MA
I am new here. My name is Lisa and I live just a little North of Boston. I have been reading this site since my doc told me that I should find and get involved with a support group. I am not very good at expressing my emotions and have a very hard time reaching out to people and letting them know how I feel or where I am at unless everything is going good.

My surgery is coming up on June 3ed, I will be having the RYN, and I am on a roller coaster ride of emotions. One minute I am happy as a clam and the next I am in tears for no reason at all.

I really don't know what to say and guess I just wanted to introduce myself and try to make some new friends that have gone through the surgery or is about to start their journey as I am.

I look forward to getting to know you all and making new friends.
antonietta23
on 5/24/09 6:14 pm - Holbrook, MA

the rollercoaster is normal.  I know how excited I was and then I would be scared.  First I was afraid of the surgery. Then I was afraid I would never eat again.  Let me tell you this has been the best thing I could ever do for myself.  I am 10 months out and 112 pounds lighter, I am able to eat, and I eat to live not live to eat.  The first month is the hardest, just getting use to the eating, and it it gets better and better.  The support here is great because it makes you feel part of a community.  You will do wonderful, it is a journey.

nicunicu2002
on 5/24/09 8:24 pm - Sharon, MA
hi Lisa...

Welcome to this site and so happy you introduced yourself.  This website is such a plethora of information and support for all of us.  Sometimes just looking thru the posts will provide comfort and support to know you are not alone and we basically all go thru the same thing.