Hello people!

MaeFB
on 11/9/08 2:27 am - Townsend, MA
Hello, I couldn't find a welcome thread, so I'm making mine. Hi, I'm new here; my name is Meghan. I work at a Fashion Bug, and KS4 recommended this site and her surgeon because she has been so successful with hers, so here I am! I'm still just learning about the different surgeries and such, the more intrusive vs. the new ones.

Has anyone had the lap band personally? Were there complications? Are you doing well afterward?

How about gastric bypass? It's the older method, but more intrusive, who would recommend this over the lap band? I need help, I'm new to looking into this. And I'd rather hear it from someone who has HAD the surgery than some pamphlet advertising one or the other.

Are there other types of surgery available, and if so, what do they entail? You all seem experienced, and I'm new, and I'd love to get some help.

thanks,
Meghan
Just Brooke
on 11/9/08 3:13 am

Hello Meghan,

I had gastric bypass on May 5th and have had really good results! I've had no complications besides a staph infection in the beginning - but that cleared up with antibiotics within days.

I've also found the best thing to do for information is just read all of the posts here. Everyone posts about the good and the bad with both surgeries! Even check out everyones profiles too, lots of members get into detail about their surgeries and progress through their blogs.

Good luck,
Brooke

rockysmom
on 11/9/08 3:29 am - Dartmouth, MA
Hi Meghan,