What about medicine after surgery

Jadeyesmiling
on 6/15/08 3:11 pm
VSG on 02/08/16
Im new to all of this, I went to two meetings last year, and bailed because my insurance would only cover bypass and I was sold on lapband, now I am back with a new insurance and probably a new decision.  I was wondering how much water you can drink at one time after the bypass? Is anyone getting dehydrated? I drink a ton of water now, probably at least 6 or more bottles of water a day. How much can you drink if you are hot and sweaty after exercise? Also.... does anyone have problems with medicine like say advil or anything like that over the counter stuff working after this. With malabsorbtion does it effect medicine?  My consult isnt until sept, so its a long wait. I get a base weight wed. so at least I can start cutting back and taking off a few pounds before my consult, hopefully it will go smoothly from there. Thanks, any information would be appreciated!! :)

HW: 528 CW: 386 Short term Goal weight: 350

Tracey :)

CarolWannabe
on 6/15/08 10:27 pm - Pepperell, MA
Hi and Welcome.  First you have to remember that everyone is different.  Some people are able to get all their liquids in with no problem and some (like me) could only do about 1/3 - 1/2 of what was required each day.  As time goes along, it does get easier.  I also was a huge water drinker before hand and thought "no problem - this will be a breeze for me" - yeah right !    As far as med's go - you will not be taking Advil after.  NO NSAIDS.  Tylenol will be your friend.  Your Dr's office should give you a list of what you can and cannot take for OTC meds.   September will be here before you know it.  Arm yourself with all the information and knowledge you can.  Knowing too much is sometimes good and prepares you for this wild ride you are about to take ! Best of Luck  Carol
foobear
on 6/17/08 12:41 am - Medford, MA