Trying to get a surgery date

diouellette
on 6/9/08 12:39 pm
This is my first time doing this. I need advice. I started this journey in January and have been doing everything I need. My problem is when I did the psych evaluation I was so nervous that I answered in a way that made it sound like I am a binge eater. I knew I wasnt but agreed to meet with a psychologist. She agreed but because I said I am not a cook and got frustrated with weigh****chers and counting points she feels that I need to keep meeting with her to learn to make better food choices and such. I told her today that I take this surgery very seriously and have been already starting changes and don't want this to put my date in limbo while she waits until she thinks i am ready. So, not a great idea, she is not thrilled but I agreed to keep going afraid not to. Now I am afraid that no matter what I say she will either take it as I am not ready because I am not eating right or if I can eat right and in a structured manner then I dont need the surgery. So, I need some advice on how to handle this situation. Thanks Dianne
nicunicu2002
on 6/9/08 10:05 pm - Sharon, MA
Dianne: Can you see another psych?  I had my visit yesterday, had to name the last 3 presidents, recite the months backwards and subtract 100-7.  The appt lasted 10 minutes and was a breeze.  Let me know if you want her name and telephone number, she is in Boston. Kim

diouellette
on 6/9/08 10:27 pm
HI Kim thanks for the reply. I am not sure if I can do that. I dont want to make waves. This woman is telling me that I have to learn to eat on a schedule, no processed foods only fresh fruits, veggies and meats and keep a log of all of it. She claims once the surgery we can no longer have any processed foods and I believe she was talking even frozen meals. last night i was thinking i would rather be seeing the nuritionist for meal advice and not a shrink. I dont get into Boston much so thank for the offer but I may get back on that one.