Newbie -- taking the first step

Dearie723
on 6/3/08 9:24 am - CT
Hi All... I posted about a week ago introducing myself, but it didn't show up yet. Anyways, I -- like everyone else going through this process -- have had troubles with weight my entire life. I'm up and down like a yo-yo and I've had enough of it and am finally taking the steps forward to improve my health, and overall quality of life PERMANANTLY.  I've been dieting and gaining for about 15 years now. At my highest I weighed 250 lbs (I'm only 5 feet tall...) and I was able to loose 105lbs on my own. Only to gain back 60 of it. So here I am, topping over 200 lbs again. Deathly afraid of gaining even an ounce more.  I'm already finding that I'm short of breath again and my back/joint problems have all come back.  I've been researching WLS for YEARS, and finally just got up the guts to actually call the surgical center for an intake packet yesterday.  I'm considering the LapBand procedure... I think it will be tremendously beneficial to me. I live in northern CT, but my health insurance won't cover the procedure at any of the nearby CT hospitals. So I looked into BayState Medical center (which is on my health insurance's "good" list) -- they seem like a good place. Does anyone have any experience with them?  I'm really looking forward to sharing everyone's experiences, and if anyone has any advice while I venture on this journey don't be afraid to let me know! Take care, DD
stellalukin
on 6/3/08 12:26 pm - Cambridge, MA