Overwhelmed with Excitement and Disbelief-Surgery Schedued!

tiger_lily90
on 8/7/14 7:46 am

Hello all,

I am a newbie to the site and have been overweight all of my life. I am 24 yrs old and I have been wishing and hoping to get weight loss surgery for as long as I have known about it. I have finally begun this journey and have completed all of the requirements for my insurance, including, a six-month supervised diet, psych eval, fitness eval, meeting with dietician, getting my PCP to back up my decision, and providing documentation of being over weight for at least 5 years. I am now just waiting for all of my paperwork to be submitted to my insurace company and their stamp of approval. I do, however, have a surgery date scheduled for September 18th, and I could not be more excited. I am filled with disbelief that this seems to finally be happening for me. In short, I am running to the forums to ask for a little support as to the concerns I have in regards of what to expect for the first few weeks up to the first few months.

Anyone that could provide me with a little enlightenment as to their first few challenges, ah-ha moments, or an outright overview of their beginning of this life changing journey would be much appreciated.  :)

I hope everyone has had immense success in their weight loss journey and I cannot wait to get my life back!

Hislady
on 8/7/14 3:56 pm - Vancouver, WA

My first suggestion is run from the lap band idea as fast as you can!!! It is the least effective and most difficult of the weight loss surgeries to be successful in. It is also proving to be very dangerous and in some cases causing life long damage to the esophagus and stomach. Even when you follow all the rules and do everything correctly the band can and will in many people cause terrible damage. I can say this from personal experience. I had so much pain that I paid for removal of my band myself!