3 Days Post-Op - Anyone else banded this past week?

jurnee
on 12/7/13 10:45 pm, edited 12/8/13 5:57 am
Lap Band on 12/05/13

Are there any other recent December Lab Band patients?  I need a buddy...

I'm new to this - only 3 days post-op.  I was expecting pain, but not THIS much.  Lower right where the port is feels like burning / ripping whenever I move, and the left shoulder pain is non-stop.  I finally slept for more than 1 hour yesterday afternoon.

I want to EAT something so badly - liquid diet before and now after... I KNOW I need to look to the future, but selfishly I just want a burger or SOMETHING. I realize that's how I got to where I am, but I want to sink my teeth into something substantial!  

I also never received official post-op instructions from my surgeon so I've been trying to follow the Lap Band pamphlet - why are CLEAR liquids so important?  I've been drinking the meal replacement shakes...  What other options do I have?

5'4" HW 241   First GW: 165  Banded: 12/05/13 @ 233 

First Fill: 12/16/2013 4cc // Second Fill 3/12/14 1.5cc // Fill Reduction 3/17/14 -.5cc // Total 5cc

Nic M
on 12/8/13 12:20 am

Make sure you walk as much as possible to dispel the gas used during surgery. That will hopefully help you with the shoulder pain.

Are you keeping on top of the pain by taking painkillers? Take them if you have them! (Captain Obvious! Ha.) 

Good luck. Hope you feel better soon! 

jurnee
on 12/8/13 1:46 am
Lap Band on 12/05/13

Thank you for the advice Nic M - I've been walking around the house as much as possible (too cold to walk outside) & I've kept the heating pad on my shoulder when I'm resting.  I DO feel better today's just the incision is really bothering me.  I'm up to date on pain meds too. 

I'm at the point where I'm scared to drink too much - I'm terrified to cause any of those post-op complications so I think I'm under-eating.  I've been drinking protein / meal replacement shakes even though they're not "clear liquid".  

Hislady