A bandster pet peeve

Kate -True Brit
on 2/5/11 3:01 am - UK

I really do believe that if we are to live with this for life, we all need to find our own individual ways! I could always lose pounds - by depriving myself! But this is the first time in my life I have been able to maintain that loss! I'm not good at deprivation!

Kate

Highest 290, Banded - 248   Lowest 139 (too thin!). Comfort zone 155-165.

Happily banded since May 2006.  Regain of 28lbs 2013-14.  ALL GONE!

But some has returned! Up to 175, argh! Off we go again,

crystal M.
on 2/5/11 2:35 am, edited 2/5/11 2:37 am - Joliet, IL
rainbow - I am the same way.  Completely addicted when it comes to food.  It's like heroine to me.  If I eat at McDonalds once I will go again and again.  The same with cookies...I will eat the whole package.  I just stay away from those foods that trigger these behaviors in me...because once I start I can't stop!!!  I have a feeling this will be the way I am forever. 

I also find the longer I stay away from something the less of a pull I have toward it.  Like soda...I know longer want soda anymore...but I would never drink it again because I would go right back to what I was before...a total soda-holic
rainbow_runner
on 2/6/11 1:12 am

Then, without question cmagouirk, you are a true carb addict, and it's excellent that you know and acknowledge that fact.  It is the first step to recovery.  The next step is to educate yourself in order to acquire the tools to overcome your addiction.  If you would like to read a couple of books around this subject, I'd recommend

1) In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts (Dr. Gabor Mate), and

2) The End of Overeating - Taking Control of the Insatiable North American Appetite (David Kessler, MD)

The first book helped me understand my addiction and the second book explained to me how the companies that package our foods conspire, for the sake of the almighty dollar, to make and keep us addicted to the sugar, salt and fat in those foods.