Trader Joe's suggestions

(deactivated member)
on 2/1/11 11:10 pm - Des Moines, IA
Hi, Trader Joe's is new to my area and I went there a week ago and wow, so many things I've never tried before or even seen before.  I found some different brands of Greek yogurt, 4 flavors of Hummus, some dried snap peas.  We didn't have a lot of time to really look at all the store had to offer.  I never had tried the hummus before, but it is good.  I'm willing to try new things, just want to know if you have any fun suggestions for me!

Stay warm!  -2 below here in Iowa
Kristi
PaintingChef
on 2/1/11 11:22 pm - TN
GREEN PLANT FOOD JUICE!!!  It is incredibly delicious and has SO many wonderful things in it.  But I'm serious... DO NOT look at it too closely before you drink it, it looks like sludge.  But the taste?  Oh man.  Fruity, fruity, fruity.  I so desperately wish we had a Trader Joe's where I live, I would be able to drink it all the time.  Sadly, I have to settle for the Naked Juice version that isn't anywhere near as magically delicious.

Hummus IS wonderful, have you tried baba ganoush?  It's a similar flavor and made from eggplant which is also full of wonderful things.
My blog:  PaintingChef

Mell
on 2/1/11 11:24 pm
The frozen turkey meatballs are great! And good in calories and an easy quick fix for lunch, dinner, or even a snack, I just pop them in the microwave with hummus or on a salad I love them! They have frozen enamame that is great, oh and a whole grain flax seed cracker that is a good alternative when you want a crunch.
Stephanie M.
on 2/1/11 11:25 pm
Hi Kristi!  Congratulations on TJ coming to your neighborhood!  We have a large, multi-generation household ( three 13 yr old girls, 15 yr old boy, my daughter and husband (almost 40) and my husband and I (early 60's) and we spend about 25% of our food budget at TJs.  The band friendly items are so numerous!