So much to think about

chubbychub
on 9/27/05 12:42 pm - camp hill, PA
Ok so here we go. I am new to the sight, but not new to the idea of WLS. I did much researching last year only to chicken out before I started the whole getting started process. There are so many things going through my head. I guess I should start at the beginning. I am 25, 5'4" and 285. I have always been heavy and have always had a problem with the way I look. I have dieted since I was like 6 and have never been able to keep it off. Last year I quit smoking and gained an additional 25 lbs which really did not help my problems. I have been considering WLS for a while but I have so many doubts. Am I too young? I do not really have any medical problems "yet", but I am sure they will not be far behing if I dont do something soon. My whole family is heavy and I am sure they will not support my decision to get WLS. My sister mentioned it to my mom last year for herself and she just about flipped. My partner is behind me 100 percent, but I dont even know how to talk to my mom about it. I also think I should probably talk to my insurance company before I go any further or get into this much more, but I am not sure what questions to ask. Do I just ask if they cover WLS or do I have to ask about each of the individual things they might cover ie. hospital stay, surgeon, after care etc. I am going to call the weight loss center and see if I can ge an initial appointment at a time when me and my partner can both go. I am terrified about complications from the surgery. How likley is it that I would die from it? I am a constant worrier, so that does not help. I feel like this is my last option. I do not think that my family doctor will give me a referal, so I may need to get a different doc. The last time I tried to talk to him about weight loss, all he could talk about was Atkins. I was like, been there, done that, but he did not care. So anyway, here I am, a newbie to the site, asking for any insight ore e