New Here Surgery coming up soon!

Ann M.
on 7/2/04 12:12 pm - Norwich, CT
Hi All, This is my first post on this message board. I live in CT with my partner of 20 years. I am a retired manager for the state of CT and my partner is a nurse. My surgery is scheduled for this coming Tuesday and I'm excited and very scared at the same time...like going on a roller coaster ride. Everything is going great, all my tests came back a-okay and I'm anticipating that things are going to go smoothly on Tuesday. I am having the RNY bypass...and I have to have it "open" as my insurance won't pay to have it done laproscopically. I think that will be for the best in the long run...but it sure makes it harder "up front" (no pun intended). I have high BP, sleep apnea and reflux...I'll be very happy to get rid of the meds and the pills. I can't wait to be able to be active again as I used to be before I went to work in that high stress, sedentary desk job 25 years ago. That was when I started gaining weight. Then when I quit smoking I put on 70 lbs...that was the beginning of the end. I feel fortunate that I don't have heart problems, diabetes and I can still walk around (although my old sports injuries to the knees are not doing well with the weight). I am hoping that this surgery gives me the fighting chance to combat my weight problems and being physically active is one of the biggest keys to that. I'm really looking forward to the increased energy level and the feeling of being physically tired due to activity...rather than the dragging tired feeling I have now. I've started a 101 reasons to lose weight list and I'm up to #87 now. I'm going to consult this list frequently as I go through the next few years...to help me to remember why I have to be compliant with doctors orders. I'm babbling now, just wanted to say "HEY" to you folks. It's nice to be here. Ann Miller
ruthdebra
on 7/2/04 5:04 pm - Palm Springs, CA