Need a PCP in the St. Petersburg Area

missa0000
on 9/23/13 12:04 am - St. Petersburg, FL

Hello All

Just found out that Humana has changed requirements for WLS. All I need is a referral from my PCP and its on to the Surgeon. I have already chose Dr. Jessee to do my surgery.  I want the VSG. My current PCP  is a JSA doc and is totally against surgery. I'm 31 with a BMI of 55. I have high blood pressure and on 4 different meds. I am looking for a WLS friendly PCP. I have about 4 days left to change my PCP to become effective in October. HELP! I'm looking for doc that will write me a referral on My new patient visit. If it helps I have Humana HMO Staff. I'm a teacher with Pinellas County schools. 

Michael Eak
on 9/23/13 8:28 am, edited 9/23/13 8:29 am - Saint Petersburg, FL

Just about ALL of the Primary Doctors in Pinellas County are with JSA now.

It's a shame as JSA is about the money not about your medical health,

Check out these Primary Doctors in St.Pete:

Carlos Labrador      Michael Zimmer     John Kern

And update your OH profile, as it has you in GA. as your story may help someone else too!

FLParrotGirl
on 10/1/13 10:41 pm
VSG on 10/14/13
Don't know if you found one yet but Dr Ananda Som is wonderful!! He is very supportive of the surgery and was able to fill out all the necessary paperwork I needed. Plus he is very caring.
shannonmcgee
on 10/3/13 10:41 pm
VSG on 12/09/13

Since you have Humana HMO I think you have to go to JSA. They are wholly owned by Humana. If you had a PPO you could go anywhere. I work for a PCP in Largo and we only take Humana PPO. I wish you the best of luck.

PsychoWriter
on 10/31/13 7:44 am - St Petersburg, FL