Roux en Y or VSG

Bonnie C.
on 6/3/10 2:54 pm - Miami, FL
I would love to get some opinions.... Which is the better choice considering the risks and life long commitment that must be made.

I had thought I wanted the RNY, but I have been reading a little bit about the VSG and it too sounds like a good choice.

Since I'm not very good at remembering to take my pills I have been considering the VSG, but I'm not sure if I would lose the weight that I want.

That is why I'm asking for some opinions.

Looking forward to "hearing" from you all!
Check out my blog for recipes and more
@
Bye Bye Pounds
HW-310/SW-292/CW-182/GW-160

(deactivated member)
on 6/4/10 3:29 am - Tampa, FL
Bonnie, if I might suggest, go to the RNY board and the VSG board, and ask each of the boards for a list of the pros and cons of their type of surgery.  There is usually a "my surgery is better than the others" mentality if you ask people to compare the surgery that they had to one they did not have.  Let's face it, no one wants to admit that they picked the wrong surgery to have.  Then make your own list of pros and cons, and decide for yourself.  RNY may have been the best choice for me; but not knowing you, how can I say it will be better for you than VSG.  Good luck to you.
ToniLee
on 6/4/10 9:51 pm