got a date/problem

msknow
on 5/13/04 9:52 pm - Deerfield Beach, FL
This is my first time posting here. I just got a date for RNY/LAP. It's July 7. I have a problem, though. I will probably have my period at that time. I wasn't given much choice in the date and I'm not sure that there is anything I can do about this. Did anyone else have this problem and how did you deal with it?
Bieniasz
on 5/13/04 10:59 pm - Tampa, FL
Hey Laura- Don't worry about it!! I have seen this question numerous times and always the same answers...the nurses are completely prepared!!! Best of luck! Lori 222/172/1?? laprny 1-6-04
michelleguess
on 5/13/04 11:02 pm - Clayton, nc
Laura, I am an RN who has worked surgical ICU and periods are common and it doesn't phase the medical staff at all. Surgery and trauma tend to bring on periods so even if it wasn't your time of the month the surgery would probably be enough to bring it on anyway. Best of luck Michelle
ErikaL
on 5/13/04 11:05 pm - JAX, FL
Laura, Lori is right! Don't sweat it!!! It is common for women to get their period when they have the surgery anyway, even if they just had one. The nurses are used to it. Most advise taking pads to the hospital with you, even if your not due to get your period. Congratulations on getting your surgery date! Welcome to the AMOS family, Erika L
SimplyRedHead
on 5/14/04 12:15 am - Longwood, FL
Laura, Congrats on your date. I would be worried myself about the same thing, but based on what the others have written, I guess it doesnt matter. Good Luc****ep us posted. Amy
Marla S.
on 5/14/04 12:49 am - Tampa-ish, FL
Welcome to AMOS and congra on your date! If the hospital staff has never seen a woman in their care on her period, well they are in for the next level of nursing 101. Believe me, they have seen and cared for it all. You go girl. Besides, what God gave us is very special, otherwise how would all our lovely babies get here? Marla
msknow
on 5/14/04 4:11 am - Deerfield Beach, FL