How do you get a referrel?

Karen P.
on 3/23/04 11:27 pm - Coral Springs, fl
I am just starting out in this process. I went to the info session from my surgeon yesterday and the first step is to get a letter from your primary doctor. I don't even have a doctor (just moved down about a year ago). I asked who the surgeon recommended (figured they would know who is wls-friendly). They gave me a name (Mike Perl in Coral Springs). But now I'm not sure how to approach him. They gave me a form letter that the pcp needs to fill out. But I am afraid if I start as a new patient and just want this doctor to 'rubberstamp' my decision, this doctor may not want to refer me. I don't want to be put on another diet, but don't want to seem too forward in the wls process. Any ideas?
melindainfla
on 3/24/04 12:18 pm - pinellas county, fl
Karen, Make an appointment for a consult with the doctor. Be honest...get your records from your last primary care doctor and go from there. Good Luck!!! Melinda
~Kim~ J.
on 3/24/04 3:08 pm - Trinity, FL
Hi Karen, Melinda's suggestion is right on. If you cant easily get your previous doctors info on your own, when you make an appointment with the Primary Care Doctor that you are looking for, let them know you need to fill out "Release of Medical Information" or "Authorization for Release" forms and have his office staff send them to each doctor you have previously had that would have any information on your history. It's been a while since I worked for doctors but that was how we handled it. Basically get all your ducks in a row, the more history and info you have the better and smoother things will probably go for you. Keep us posted. Wishing you the best, Kim p.s If anyone can correct me on the names of the forms or can add anything please let me know
Marcia R.
on 3/25/04 6:56 am - Pembroke Pines, FL