Self Pay in Florida

Ken33026
on 2/9/04 10:47 am - Pembroke Pines, FL
Hi Everyone... I'm new to the support group and need some suggestions. I am currently having all my testing done with the intentions of submitting to my insurance carrier CIGNA HMO. From what Cleveland Clinic tells me, Cigna HMO is no longer covering surgery as of 01/04. I meet all the criteria and am a type II diabetic maxed out on meds along with other problems. My queston is if I am denied and have to self pay,can anyone suggest a Dr and hospital in Florida that is reasonable. I recieved a self pay figure from CC today of 10-12K for the Dr. and 25K + for the hospital. I know they are one of the best,but the self pay method will take me quite a few years to pay off and I need to explore all options in the event that CIGNA refuses to cover this. Are there any other self pays out there? I am willing to travel but not out of the country. Thanks ! Ken
Kim B.
on 2/9/04 11:07 am - FL
I was talking to my Dr about this if this happened to someone and they told me that if it is a self pay then it was a flat rate of about $14K that included the surgons rate and all the hospital stuff. ( If I am not mistaken, but you should call to make sure) Dr. Jawad in Ocala is one of the top surgons around. He is awesome! Here is the website for his practice. www.bariatriccenterofocala.com They are all very nice in the office and Dr. Jawad really knows what he is talking about. Good Luck to you!
sherri parker
on 2/9/04 12:04 pm - port richey, FL
First thing you need to look into since your insurance won't cover the Wls. Will they cover complications if they should occur? Next will they still cover you? Some insurances drop you. Now can you go on Medicaide or share of cost. Are you working? If so does Obesity efect the quaility of work you are doing? Look into Voc. Rehab. As far as Doctors I will have Dr. Haicken in clearwater. Sherri
humbrdlvr1
on 2/11/04 8:18 pm - Wesley Chapel, FL