Is there any hope?

Dana F.
on 10/31/03 5:45 pm - Pace, FL
Hello everyone, I am new to using this message board. I was wondering if anyone was ever refused WLS until they obtained a BMI of at least 60? My BMI is 70 and the surgeon I consulted with in Milton, Florida refused to treat me until I lose weight, which I am currently trying to do....My question is this...what other options are open to me locally? I live in Pace which is close to Pensacola. I cannot begin to explain how disheartening it was to be told you are too fat for WLS! It is so depressing. But I am trying to kept my hope for a better life. I have cut out all sweets and sodas. I am the type I have to wean myself to lose weight. I suppose next I will cut out other food items that cause weight gain...*sigh*....just wish that I could be doing this AFTER surgery and see more results. It's been a month and I have seen very little results, but then I haven't weighed yet so who knows. Thanks everyone in advance. Sorry to come on here and vent with my first post! lol
Sunnisunshine
on 10/31/03 8:54 pm - Sebastian, FL