Newbie here in Jax!

Nicole S.
on 4/6/08 7:39 pm - Jacksonville, FL

Hi my name is Niki. I just moved to Jacksonville in October. Im going to talk to my doctor on Thursday  about wls. im hoping this doctor is more open than my last primary care doctor. ive been having more health issues lately. like sleep apnea, high blood preasure, knee pain, asthma bothering me alot more. just to name a few. I'm seeing a primary care doctor at Shands here in Jax. im hoping she'll listen to me more than my doctor in New Mexico did. Well really I just wanted to say Hi and im looking for a few new Florida Friends! Thanks for listening Niki

sandyfeets
on 4/7/08 11:58 am - Jacksonville, FL
RNY on 12/20/05 with

Welcome to Jax Niki.  

Shands is a GOOD hospital associated with the U of F.

If you don't have luck with finding a WLS friendly PCP at Shands, post here and someone will give you some names.  

There are only about 4 surgical groups in Jax that do WLS (Lapband, RNY, or VSG)  Most surgeries are done at St. Vincents, Baptist or Memorial.  

mskeeley
on 4/11/08 11:13 am - Orange Park but my heart is in MD, FL
Hi Niki and welcome to the area I wish you the best. Pam
abandster
on 4/13/08 8:09 am