Wind out of my sail

lasjax
on 3/10/08 11:38 am - Jacksonville, FL
Hello everyone, today the wind came out of my sail. I finally got up the nerve to go for a consult for the LapBand after 3 of my Doctors reccommended it. I was so excited and wanted to have it done tomorrow, only to find out that I pay $1200 a month for insurance that does not cover it. I have been reading posts on here some positive however many more are negative about getting it covered. What do I do, I need to have this done I cannot breathe, I am diabetic, high BP, sleep apnea and can hardly walk to my car in the morning because of my knees and hips. I know all of you have heard this before, I am new to OH and have no idea where to look for help. Any and all guidance is greatly appreciated. I have read where several of you have paid for the procedure yourself, what is the average price? I don't have the funds to do the self pay, we are still paying for my husbands stem cell replacement. I look forward to hearing from you. LouAnn Jacksonville, FL
(deactivated member)
on 3/10/08 9:55 pm - Tampa, FL
LouAnn, read or reread your policy very carefully. A lot of times WLS is not covered unless medically neccessary, so at first glance by you or a customer service agent, it looks like it's not covered, but it is. Check to see if it is covered if your pcp states that you have to have the surgery, and then also check to see if there is an appeal process. Do not give up at the beginning, all too often insurance companies make it hard to get approved, but not impossible. Fight, fight, fight.

Good luck,

steve
Redhaired
on 3/11/08 2:52 am - Mouseville, FL