could use a little help with food and big endurance activites

Louise1974
on 8/13/13 11:29 am

Sorry this is so long!!

Hi all!  I rarely post over here but I check in now and then and really appreciate all of you!  I have been doing lots of hiking and am working hard to get half of the Adirondack 46 high peaks hiked by the end of next month.  That will be a lot of hiking!  I am 11 months out, down 100 pounds, probably just a few pounds from goal (I don't really have one, I just decided to stop where I landed and it seems to be slowing down).  So far, I have been doing 8-12 hour hikes with lots of elevation gain.  Occasionally I wear a heart rate monitor and I tend to stay right around 155 most of the way to the summit  with plenty of peaks to 170+ during the steep stretches.  on the way down I usually stay at around 130-150.  I am learning how to trail run the steep trails!   I am just beginning to do the longer hikes which will be closer to 14 hours and I am also beginning to do back to back days of that kind of hiking.  Thus far I haven't done much different with food the day before, I just eat my regular stuff.  the day of the hike I do a protein shake in the car on the way and eat maybe 2 or 3 times during the day, usually nuts with dried fruit or a cliff builder bar (figure the extra carbs will help me).  It totals maybe 1 cliff builder bar (I think 390 calories or something like that with 20 grams of protein) and then two big handfuls of nuts with dried fruits.  Then i get some dinner when I am done and I am still figuring out what to eat after these hikes, no idea really.  I crave burgers and fries because that is what I always ate after hikes pre surgery.  So I am still figuring that out.  After the last one I had a cup of bean soup, 1/2 a burger, and a few fries, maybe 7 or so.