Couch to 5k?

megan.sherman
on 7/29/13 12:46 am
VSG on 05/17/14

Hi All,

I have been walking for a couple of months now, started out at 1.75 miles and now up to 2.75 miles, which I do in about an hour.  I am thinking about trying to maybe jog a little bit as well.  I am currently 315 lb. Has anyone tried the Couch to 5k program?  Is there any merit to the theory that if you run/walk in intervals you burn more calories?

LJ1972
on 7/29/13 5:42 am - FL

I haven't done the C25k, but I know there are several folks around on the boards who have had great success with it, so go for it!

The intervals training is based more off heart rate - the line of thinking that you are referring to can be found googling  "HIIT"  or "high intensity interval training".  Differing opinions on if alternating your heart rate (high to low, etc) really burns more calories, but is sure keeps things more interesting.

http://www.healthytheory.com/high-intensity-interval-trainin g

COURAGE TO START, STRENGTH TO ENDURE, RESOLVE TO FINISH 
                              HW 353 SW 317 Original GW 180  Current Wt  170 
                               First 5k 59:18; 5k PR 32:06;  1st 10k 1:20:27; PR 1:08:36
                                                    1st Half Marathon 2:48

Pensacola Double Bridge Run 15k- 1:47:34
                                                  Three Sprint Triathlons

billmacc7
on 7/29/13 12:47 pm - MA

Hi-I have done the C25K program. It is very well structured and I found it worked great. I have done about 1/2 dozen 5ks, 2 10Ks, and even a 1/2 Marathon!!!! In any event, it works well in my opinion.

Not sure about the calories or run/walk issue, but again I like the C25K program a lot!

Yours in WLS Journey,

Bill Mac

MacMadame
on 7/29/13 3:09 pm - Northern, CA

The question is: burns more calories than what?