Backpacking food?

Karens62
on 5/23/13 10:59 am - NC
RNY on 02/26/13
I have a lot of experience lightweight backpacking but haven't gone since last summer. I'm almost 3 months out and am having challenges figuring out what to bring for supper this coming weekend that aren't the standard carb heavy backpacking fare. I'm trying to keep my pack, with food and water, well under 25 pounds so no cans, minimal to no cooking (ho****er only) and, of course , no refrigeration. We'll only be out two nights but that's long enough I don't want to bring just protein bars. We'll be in an area with a number of bear so I have already ruled out tuna.

Right now I'm planning on cheese, nuts and protein bars for breakfast, lunches and snacks along with crystal light and sugar free spiced cider to drink. Any other ideas?

HW - 319, SW - 303.5 

nfarris79
on 5/24/13 9:27 am - Germantown, MD

Not sure if at 3 months out this suggestion would be too happy in your pouch but I'd recommend jerky. The softest & tastiest one I've found is Jack Links Prime Rib flavor.

First ultra: Stone Mill 50 miler 11/15/14 13:44:38, First Full Marathon: Marine Corps 10/27/13 4:57:11Half Marathon PR 2:04:43 at Shamrock VA Beach Half-Marathon, 12/2/12 First Half-Marathon 2:32:47, 5K PR  Run Under the Lights 5K 27:23 on 11/23/13, 10K PR 52:53 Pike's Peek 10K 4/21/13(1st timed run) Accumen 8K 51:09 10/14/12.

Paul C.
on 5/28/13 4:12 am - Cumming, GA

Since your diet is going to be limited I would recommend something that contains Electolytes to drink.  The Low Cal G2 comes in packets or you can get tablets from a sports shop NuuN and GU Brew or Hammer Fizz are some of the most common.  I know a couple of the companies that make hydration packs actually have a product you can use in their bladders.