Heart Rate During Exercise

hrford
on 5/4/13 11:17 pm
VSG on 03/19/12

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/308002012

I don't know if you guys can see that, if not let me know.  IF you can you'll notice that it says I'm running at a very high % of my max hear rate (anywhere from 90 to 101%)  I don't feel horrible or overworked at the pace I'm running, like you would think I would feel if I was running mile after mile at that % of max heart rate.  So Is my max heart rate just higher?  Should I be concerned by any of this?  Am I hurting my fitness running at these levels even if I don't feel awful?  

HW: 270 SW: 234.4 CW: 135.0 1stGW:149 (GOAL MET)afreshstart-hreneeh.blogspot.com/
1st 5k: 5/12/12 44:55  PR 4miles: 12/31/2012 35:49

Kim H.
on 5/7/13 10:04 am - VA
RNY on 07/11/11 with

Well, I'm not an expert but I do have a few thoughts on the matter. First I would say that if you're exercising comfortably then it may not be your true max but a chart max so how you feel matters more than what they say the number should be. Having said that, I would also say that research shows no real benefit from exercising at 95% of your max. It's actually safer to exercise at a lower intensity but like I said maybe your true level of intensity is higher than what the chart says. Many people also talk about the "fat burn" at lower levels meaning that it's truly aerobic rather than where you burn more available glycogen when working at high levels like you're doing. Personally, I would say keep at the same distance and start playing with the pace. Maybe do intervals as you run and intentionally go slower then faster, repeat, etc. to see if you notice your fitness level improving as evidenced by a drop in your heart rate. I wouldn't add any more miles or speed until you see your workout getting easy both in terms of how you feel and what your heart rate is doing (meaning it should be dropping as you get more fit). Make sure you're not dehydrated or taking any meds that might effect you