Bike recomendations

KatCooper
on 1/9/12 9:04 am - Collierville, TN
 I know there are several of you on here that are avid bikers.  I am interested in duathalons and would like to purchase a bike.  I currently weigh 200lbs and am 5'5".  I do have several bike shops in town that will help me, but I dont want to overbuy.  I am finally over the worst of the "oh look I have a tailbone" pain and thought now would be a good time to start biking.  I live in the south, so it is rarely to cold to ride.  I havent been on anything but a granny bike in ages and I really looking forward to your advice!

Lots of 5K's, 10K's., 4 1/2 Marathons, 3 Sprint Triathlon done. 2 Olympics and my  First IRONMAN 70.3 September 2013 and First Full Marathon Dec 2013  !!!!!

My blog- www.NPRunner.blogspot.com

acbbrown
on 1/9/12 1:39 pm - Granada Hills, CA
 Im totally new to cycling/bikes and really dont know a whole lot -but maybe start with a trip to the bike store to check out the different bikes - you can get on and compare a road bike to a hybrid. You'd probably want a road bike if you think you might be doing races and what not, but if you aren't too worried about speed, hybrids could be an option. 

Pick the kind of bike you want and then you can look at the specific features you want within your price range. 

The tailbone pain will come back when you first start riding, along with other sensitve areas. It takes some getting used to, but you do.  Padded shorts are my friends - i cant sit on a bike without them. 

www.sexyskinnybitch.wordpress.com - my journey to sexy skinny bitch status

11/16/12 - Got my Body by Sauceda - arms, Bl/BA, LBL, thigh lift. 

HW 420/ SW 335 /CW 200    85 lbs lost pre-op / 135 post op

~~~~Alison~~~~~

InkdSpEdTchr
on 1/10/12 1:05 am
Yeah for getting into cycling- it's an amazing sport!