Any other Equestrians here?

Thundergrrrl
on 3/24/10 2:12 am
I know there is a board for horses but no one is on it! Horseback riding is probably one of the most underestimated sports in terms of the athletic ability required and I'd love to talk to others who are into it. I've been riding for 18 years (since I was 6) and have owned horses and ridden English and Western since I was 11.

Highest Wt: 274 / LAP-Band Low: 180 / Sleeved at 233 / Goal: 160!

msromagnola
on 3/24/10 3:15 am
Hi - I wouldn't call myself an equestrian - but we've ridden horses my whole life --- except I stopped in my 20's - that's 20 years ago- because I could no longer haul myself myself up in the saddle without a step.  We still have one horse - she's just a pet - she's blind in one eye.  This is in fact, my one stated goal after weight loss (hoping - I'm only 10 days out RNY)- get a horse again.
Thundergrrrl
on 3/24/10 3:58 am
Oh, awesome! Well, I wish you the best at getting back into the saddle. My highest weight was 273 and I never stopped riding but it sure it easier back down in the 250s. Not that I would know now cause I can't ride for 5 more weeks But hey, by that time I might be in the 240s or even high 230s so it'll hopefully just get better and better.

niffer1283
on 3/24/10 4:25 am - Richmond, IN
I grew up on horses, used to show in 4-H and open shows, the whole shebang. We lived on an 80 acre farm and most days in the summer I'd be up early in the morning and out riding with my friends, and not get bac****il evening. Those were the days! We had quarter horses, and I had the most beautiful dun buckskin in the world. We also had a big (almost 17 hands) palomino, plus various and sundry others! I married a city boy, though, and haven't ridden in a long time. MAN, I miss trail riding. Now that I've lost 150 lbs., I could ride comfortably again. I gotta find the time to get back into it.

Jenny
He is ill clothed that is bare of virtue. ~~ Benjamin Franklin

RNY 05/29/2008