Hi Everyone

jessicam
on 12/12/09 4:06 pm - Albuquerque, NM
Hello to all of you wonderful exercise folks,

I am new to OH and my first posting on Exercise and Fitness.  I am pre-op, I just got approved the day before Thanksgiving for my gastric bypass, it looks like my surgery will be end of Jan or first week of Feb.  I have been exercising like crazy for about the last 4 months.  When I started I was not even able to workout 10 minutes without feeling like I was going to die!  My weight when I started was 303 and after 3 months was up to 313.... I wanted to cry!  I was told over and over by my doctor and trainer that it was muscle but still it freaks you out right!  I am back down to 303 and that works for me.  At the current time I am working out at least 5 days a week, I do about 45 min of upper body toning everyother day opps day I do about 45 min of lower body.  I also do about 45 min of cardio.  I was super excited on Wed when I hit 10 miles on the bike in 31 mins, that was taking me 45 minutes to do just the week before. 
I think that one of my biggest concerns is the excess skin that will result from the rapid weight loss, how has the exercise helped with that for you guys?  Any tips to help reduce the amount of skin?  I have been told that because of my age, I'm 32 that I should not have to much excess skin from people in my support group, but I can't imagine that to be true by some of the pics I have been seeing lately.  Also have any of you tried anything like a bodysuit type of things?  Any help would be great. 
I really like the support that is on this forum.  I have a very good friend that had the surgery in March and she does not exercise at all.... she says its hard for to exercise because she is not doing anything and the weight just comes off...  So even though she has had the surgery she just can not understand why I am working out as much as I do.... as you can see no support from her on this subject!  Thanks for the help and advise in advance!!