WLS, running and races

Tim M.
on 11/28/09 6:57 am - Hagerstown, MD
So, I've been an on and off runner for a while now. I noticed post op that I needed to really tweak my nutrition when I was running. For example I do best when I have a gatorade for my longer run times even though I didn't pre-op. I am a beginner runner but out of curiosity I'm wondering what you guys have to do to maintain yourselves for longer runs, 5k's, halfs, etc. Gels more often than others or dosen't everbody have this issue.

Original BMI Pre-op= 47.7
BMI = 28.0
Currently lifting weights to gain muscle

kerniec
on 11/28/09 10:44 am - Dayton, OH
VSG on 07/22/14
I haven't done the "longer" races yet but I read a great article on this site about how if you are post-op WLS and eating a lower than "normal RDA" carb diet, the glycogen rule of a one hour workout or less not needing carbs during and immediately after does not apply........

I'm definitely going to experiment with this as I rehab and increase my distance and workout lengths, I tend to get nauseous during my harder workouts especially in warmer temps and I think it's carbs or the need thereof, it's definitely not dehydration, I drink a ton of water anytime.

I know Marie had the sleeve and uses gels with races, she's a TRI though.  I think we each have to adapt and throw out the "sugar" rules as we become more athletic and figure out what our bodies need and will allow us to use during those times.   I find after a 5K I don't want anything at first, just fluids, but then I'm running for the cookies, not sure if that's because I need carbs or because I know they won't get "stuck" in public. Bananas are dangerous with the band, I have to eat them way to carefully to eat one after a race.  Sometimes they offer chips and pretzels for sodium replacement but the thought of eating them after a race makes me sick, but I can eat cookies........I dunno what that's about in my head!