Where do you buy your "running" shoes?

Laura_Illinois
on 10/31/09 1:07 am - Morris, IL
Can anybody recommend a store that sells "running/trainers" shoes?

I'm just starting out with my exercise routine. I know I need to purchase some supportive "running" shoes/trainers to start walking and jogging.

I have not exercised on purpose for 20 years. I never purchased shoes from an actual "Running Shoe" store and have no idea where I should shop.

Thanks, I appreciate any information you can give me.

If life knocks you down 7 times, get up 8!Laura_Illinois

Elisa K.
on 10/31/09 1:30 am - Lumberton, NJ

Hi there!!  You should definitely go to a running specialty store to get shoes.  They will take the time to measure, watch how you walk, examine the wear on your current sneakers, and recommend the best shoe for you.  

You can do a google search to find a local store.  I shop at my local Fleet Feet store - you can go to there website to see if they have a store by you.

Good luck!! 

Laura_Illinois
on 10/31/09 1:37 am - Morris, IL
Thanks, I'll look into Fleet Feet. That helps me narrow down my options.

runningagain
on 10/31/09 3:22 am - NY

I've been told to shop at Fleet Feet too, although I haven't yet.  I hear that if you buy their shoes, and after you exercise in them, they aren't comfortable, you can return them within 30 days...even if worn!!!  Plan to spend around $100, but then after that, once you know what brand you need, you can always buy them cheaper elsewhere if you see a better deal.  It's a good investment.  Eventually, I will be buying mine there too.  Right now, I've been using a pair that I bought from a dept. store and they have been working fine.

Good luck to you and congratulations on starting to exercise!!

Tammy :-)

MacMadame
on 10/31/09 7:24 am - Northern, CA