When does running get easy?

Serenity08
on 7/27/09 10:08 am - NH
 I see people running by on the trails or the roads and it just looks so easy for them.  I am so jealous.  I want it to be effortless like that.

I'm new to my running journey.  I made it 25 minutes straight on the treadmill today at 1% incline at 4.7mph (short legs here).  

Also motivation -- I find it harder to keep my running as a run outside vs on the treadmill.  On race days (I try and do a 5k a month) I find it much easier to keep myself running or get back to running if I've started walking.   What do you do to keep yourself running?

Serenity

Darrell H.
on 7/27/09 11:16 am - Sinton, TX
Hi. I am pretty new to this so take it with a grain of salt, but the main thing that keeps me motivated is being registered for races. I don't train to win a race, but to improve. That upcoming race has always been my motivation. I know if I have something schedules that I better get my butt out there and prepare myself. Dare Greatly!
Tri Daring Greatly! www.tridaringgreatly.com

I will no longer be a spectator, a dreamer, a wonderer. I AM a doer; not only a goal setter, but a goal achiever. I will lead by example rather than word. I will "DARE GREATLY!"
Serenity08
on 7/27/09 8:11 pm - NH
 I like having something that I'm going to do as well - it does help.  I do try and sign up for a 5k a month.  Wish I could do more but life and money is a factor as well.

I know that I do need to increase my running times  because I'm toying with the idea of signing up for a half marathon in the fall.  Last year, a friend and I volunteered at a water stop - her a month after her surgery and I a week after.  We are thinking - how cool would it be if this year we could actually run part of it?

Serenity

wjoegreen
on 7/27/09 11:17 am - Colonial Heights, VA
It is tough for me to get started.  The stretching hurts and the first mile is like banging all the dents out of an old car, but after that, I kinda get a rythym.