Help! Lost 2 lbs. lean body mass, gained 2 lbs. fat.

JackieBel
on 7/26/09 1:20 pm - McAllen, TX
I'm almost 4 years out.  I started an exercise and diet program with a local gym 2 weeks ago.  I'm supposed to eat 3 meals and 3 snacks daily.  The 3 snacks are protein shakes or pure protein bars.  The meal is a hand size piece of protein, fist size portion of both 1 starch and 1 veggie.  I lost 2 lbs. of lean body mass and gained it in fat after the first week.  The 2nd week I lost 0.5 lbs of fat.  I know my body metabolizes food differently since I had RNY.  What should I be eating to begin losing weight again (losing fat and gaining lean body mass)?  The gym/nutrition expert said 1g. of protein for each lb. of my weight (180 g) and about 1/3 in carbs.  Is there an expert who can help me? 

Thanks,
Jackie
wjoegreen
on 7/27/09 4:04 am, edited 7/27/09 4:05 am - Colonial Heights, VA
I'm no expert but I am almost 3 yrs out and I have learned this much that might help you:

As an RNY paitent; you still and always will have about a 40% malabsorption condition or saying it another way,...you absorb about 60% of th enutrients form food as regular disgestive tracted person.  So if you take in 100 gms of protein, you get about 60 gms of benefit.

Second,..muscles need protein to grow and carbs to burn.  Reduce the carbs and the body will burn fat until it can't find enough, then it wil cannabolize muscle.  Protein cannot be stored, it is either processed for metabolic use or passed out. Complex carbs are similar but can be broken down but require much more energy. Non-complex carbs or simple carbs are like sugars and fat and are easily converted to storage (fat) by the body if not used.  DOn't put it in the body and the body cannot do that.