My Weekly Workouts Any Tips?

Jenni123
on 7/12/09 9:09 am - orlando, FL
 I have been working out for about 3 months now.  I have fallen into a routine of 3 times a week.  Thursdays is an hour long Zumba class.  The other two days I do weights arms & abs one day & legs & back the other day.  I also do a mile or so on the treadmill.  I am planning to add a 4th day now that I have a better schedule at work.  Sometimes if I find I cannot make it a day I try to atleast take my son swimming and swim laps.  What would you add to the 4th day?  Would you swim or do more weights and cardio?  Also I am currently completing my mile in 17 mins 45 seconds.  I want to get it up to a 15 minute mile and then start adding more distance.  My ultimate goal is 3 miles in 45 minutes.  I really have no clue what I am doing but this is the program I have set up for myself.  How long will it take me to build to the 3 miles?  I am about 4 months out from surgery and have lost about 65 pounds and have a long ways to go.  Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated.
Linn D.
on 7/12/09 9:33 am - Missoula, MT
30 minutes or more of cardio is important for overall cardiovascular health, 5 days a week.  That can be walking or anything that gets your heart rate up and can be done any time.

Weights 2-3 times a week is usually enough.  Much more than that and you're not giving your body enough time to rebuild in between.

Swimming is also cardio, so if that's what you like, go for it!  Any activity that you like and will do is the best because it becomes part of your daily habit and increases overall health, fitness, and weight loss success over the long haul.

If you want to run 3 miles, there are lots of good couch to 5K programs that are about 12 weeks.  Sign up for a race about 3 months from now and you'll be ready to go!

Congratulations on making the commitment to your health!

Linn 
wjoegreen
on 7/13/09 3:39 am - Colonial Heights, VA
Hey, 
Great Question!

Answer:
What Linn said!