Breakfast Question

Rhonda Burkhart
on 7/9/09 1:00 am
I'm new to working out and exercising.  I'm finding that the best time for me to fit in my workout is in the mornings before work.  My question is ... "Is it better to have breakfast before I begin my workout or after I've finished it?"  I've never been a big breakfast eater, but I understand the importance of having breakfast.  On of my healthy lifestyle goals is to have breakfast each day, but I wasn't sure if it made a difference when I had breakfast. 

Hawgman
on 7/9/09 2:00 am - TX

I am also a morning work out person.  I eat after the workout.  It is important for recovery that you resupply your bodies needs with 30 minutes of finishing your routing.

Good luck and congratulations on the your committment.

Darrell
Seht
on 7/9/09 2:33 am
It is going to depend on the energy you have in the morning.
I found that if I was doing a hard workout in the morning, I didn't have the energy to complete it. 
Considering when I had eaten dinner 6 p.m. the night before, it was almost 11 hours since I had any food in my system.

The Dietician suggested having a protein bar or some other source of fuel that my stomach will accept and not sit like a rock in my stomach.  If I eat this as soon as I roll out of bed, it gives me 30 minute to 1 hour before I am really into the workout and it has helped me a lot.

Usually after a hard workout, eating is the last thing I feel like doing, but I always try to have something within a 1/2 hour of completion.

Scott

The first time you do something - It's going to be a personal record!

DANCBJAMMIN
on 7/9/09 4:04 am - Fort Worth, TX