Work Out Meals

Tricia M.
on 7/6/09 4:40 am - Bakersfield, CA
I need some advice on foods that I should be eating before and after a workout. I have a personal trainer 3 days a week and today i passed out during our session. He told me to make sure I am eating the right foods while working out. I had the lapband almost a year ago and can eat pretty much anything in small amounts.

My questions are:
What foods would best help me while working out?
What and how soon before workout should i eat?
Should I eat something afterwards?

Thanks in advance, I am still new to working out and I want to maximize my working out rather than spending my time passed out!
Tricia   124 lbs lost with lapband...band removed on 9/19/09...Ticker is post removal centuryclubcardcopy.jpg Century Club Card image by sunfire_prinzes

rinaalston
on 7/6/09 5:46 am - LANCASTER, CA
I don't have an answer for you. I'm still a newbie....But I hope you are ok!! Glad to see you going to the gym....
Linn D.
on 7/6/09 12:47 pm - Missoula, MT
Tricia,

Most of what I've read and the experiences I've had say that it's more important to eat AFTER than it is before or during.

Before, it's good to have a higher carb small meal 1-2 hours before.  I sometimes have a banana or some oatmeal, but not often.

Don't really need much during unless the workout is 2 hours or more.  You should have plenty of glycogen stores to supply your needs.  Some people use gels or sport beans.  What you need and can handle during take some personal trial and error.

After, I've read that you should have a 4:1 carb to protein ratio within 30-60 minutes of working out.  I did notice that it helped me a lot having something after.  When it's really noticeable is a few days down the line.  I still have my same energy on Thursday that I do on Monday.  I'll often have a PB&J sand after a good run or spin class.

That's my 2 cents worth.

Linn 
panhead58fl
on 7/7/09 2:10 am - Barboursville, WV