More weight, reps, or sets??

lanelson2
on 6/16/09 2:05 am - Dexter, MI
hi-
I'm completely new to the whole weight lifting thing.  I do about 30-45 minutes on the elliptical machine about 6 days a week.  I've always thought that excercise had to be aerobic to really count, but have now been convinced that some weight lifting is pretty much necessary (especially if I'm going to try and fill out the loose skin on my arms...).  With that said, I've only been doing about 10-15mins 2x/day with my arms (I do some minor lifting while driving in the car!).

For the past month or so, I've been using 3# weights with my arms - with about four different exercises.  I do five sets of ten reps of each exercise on each arm, M-F - 2 exercises on the way into work and 2 on the way back. 

I definitely want my arms to be more toned, but I wouldn't hate having some moderate sized arm muscles either.  So, to keep this going, what should I be looking to increase and in what timeframe?

thx!!

lara

*20lbs lost pre-op
DANCBJAMMIN
on 6/16/09 3:28 am - Fort Worth, TX
Hey Lara,

Welcome! A great question.... Here are my thoughts:

When it comes to lifting and strength training, you HAVE to realize that rest is almost if not more important than actually lifting. When you lift weights, you tear muscle fibers, your body needs time to grow those fibers back, and if we have eaten right and taken in our proper amounts of protein, the fibers will repair slightly bigger than they previously were. That's how we gain muscle. But, when you work out THE SAME muscle every day, not allowing your muscles to repair, you can actually experience atrophy, or loss of muscle. I see it everday at the gym. Some 20 year old kid benches (Incline, decline, flat, chest press, dumbells) everyday, and in the year and a half that I have been going to the gym, he has not gained ANY muscle mass... case and point.