I know what I need to do....why don't I do it??????

(deactivated member)
on 6/4/09 7:05 am - West Central FL☼RIDA , FL
OK, I've lost a ton of weight and I know the daily exercise I've done has played a MAJOR part in my success.  So, WHY am I struggling doing it lately? 

I got a BAD cold/flu almost 2 weeks ago and am truly just starting to feel better (I"m not coughing my brains out all day and night anymore).  I should be able to get on the treadmill tomorrow morning but I have little motivation to do so.  I'll have to really push myself to do it in the morning.

I've been exercising regularly, 6 days a week for more than 18 months....WHY do I still have to push myself so hard to get moving most days.  While doing my walk/run in the morning I often find myself counting the mins as if I'm being tortured.  Will I ever learn to like it???

In my head I know I MUST exercise 6 days a week to maintain my 150 lb weight loss.......now I just need my body to move in sync with my mind.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Cassie W.
on 6/4/09 8:39 am
If you've been following the same routine for 18 months, you may need something new to get you excited about working out again. Some of the things that help me stay motivated:
- Running with other people for the social benefits and peer pressure
- Always having a race on my calendar so my training has purpose
- Mixing up my training. Even if I'm concentrated on running, I incorporate long runs, short speed sessions, hill repeats, etc. for variety.
- Adding new challenges.  I'm learning how to swim so I can do a triathlon.

There are so many great ways to exercise.. . Zumba, kick-boxing, yoga, spinning, etc.  Sample a few so you have options when boredom sets in.

Cassie
"Hard things take time to do. Impossible things take a little longer."

(deactivated member)
on 6/4/09 10:26 am - West Central FL☼RIDA , FL
Hi Cassie,
Thanks for the good ideas.