Swimmers?

BoxerGirl08
on 4/21/09 2:27 am - Canada
Hey guys,

This is my first time posting here, but I'm big into swimming. I do about 70 laps a day, it takes me an hour but i still think for my weight its great. I try to push myself to do a couple more laps each day I always try to keep it under an hour though. I would love to hear from those of you who swim. How you got your endurance up. I know in one hour I'm burning about 850cals. So i cant go wrong.

-J

Surgery 3/17/2009
Surgery weight 277
Current weight 202
Goal weight
Total lost so far: 75lbs

7.75cc's in a 9cc band
"Starting to gain control in a world full of chaos!"

DANCBJAMMIN
on 4/21/09 2:41 am - Fort Worth, TX
70 laps a day???? do you mean lengths? length is one time up, a lap is up and back. Are you swimming in a 25 yard or meter pool? I am guessing you are doing about 1750 yards (35 laps or 70 lengths) in 1 hour, which is deff not bad! Good for you.... I swim 2+ miles (3200 meters) 5 x p/ week and love swimming myself. You don't have to lengthen your distance to get a more effective swim. Try working on sprints, shorter sets... Rather than 1 big 1750 yard swim. Work on kicks, work with paddles, work with pull buoys, they will help strengthen you and will help you get more efficient and faster. Aside from myself, there are a lot of triathletes that post here regularly. Stick around and get to know us, a cool bunch, welcome. FYI Chad (AKA Kipduran) just finished a 70.3 half ironman a few short weeks ago, Sherry Berry finished 3 Full 140.6 Ironman, MadMadame just finished her 1st Olympic distance Triathlon along with Scott (Seht) who has done quite a few Tri's this past weekend, and I am doing 4 half Ironman this year along with 1 Full Ironman. You are in good company....
Your Friend In Health & Sport,

Dan Benintendi - OH Support Group Leader
www.trimywill.com 
www.swimfromobesity.com
www.trimywill.blogspot.com
Support Group: www.obesityhelp.com/group/Post_Op_PRs/

Seht
on 4/21/09 2:47 am