Treadmill workout advice?

mistiimichelle
on 4/20/09 1:28 pm - Canada
RNY on 09/02/09 with
I've been going to the gym for about 7 weeks.  Mostly use the treadmill, but also do some weights, and swim.

I was doing manual on the treadmill and walking. trying to get faster/go farther every workout.  usually between 3.0- 3.6mph.  Well, I went on the "good" treadmill it has all the bells and whistles. 

I started playing with the programs and have been using the "fatburn" program.  I like how I get to the "zone" and stay there. I do sweat, and ya my muscles feel it after the workout. I don't get that crazy out of breath, wow, that I did before.

Today I did 75min plus a 5 min cool down. My heart rate stayed between 122 and 130. (the target according to the machine is 119).  It said I burned 547 calories. 

Can someone please  better explain cardio vs fatburn.  I feel like I am cheating since I have been going faster for the past  weeks.  With the fatburn I feel like I could go longer, I am comfortable. Should I push myself more. I am in horrible shape so to achieve 119bpm doesn't take much. @ 3.4mph I go beyond target pretty quickly, right around 3.0 keeps me around 125ish.

Any advice will be appreciated.
Thanks
Michelle

Seht
on 4/21/09 1:17 am
There was an article on Yahoo recently about just this question.  I can't find the exact article right now, but this is pretty close and covers the info.

QUESTION:

I have often heard that you need to exercise at a low intensity or low heart rate to get into a "fat-burning zone" that will favor a loss in body fat.  Is this true?
ANSWER:

The "fat-burning zone" is one of the many misconceptions that seem to be passed from one exerciser to another.  The explanation for the myth is a combination of misinterpreted biochemistry and exercise physiology, inadequate education of many workers in the fitness industry, and a magazine culture that often favors sensationalism over scientific fact.