New to this forum - need cycle training advice

Dan T.
on 3/27/09 3:09 am - Logan, UT
Ok I didn't realize there was an exercise forum -

I am new to exercise period.  I recently started riding my stationary bike for longer distances.  2 days ago I rode 25 miles for 90 mins.  I now have the goal to participate in the Tour de Scottsdale on October 4th.  It is a 70 mile track that circumvents around the McDowell Mountains in Scottsdale AZ.  I need training advice, and I need gear advice.

With that I need to add some caveats. 

I am dirt broke with 7 kids.  I currently do not own a bicycle other than my stationary bike.  It is a nice bike with magnetic resistance.  So I need advice on how to train on that until I can by a used outdoor bike. 

Next I need advice on what kind of bicycle I should purchase for the upcoming event and future events.  Let me just say I don't intend to win but I don't need a bike that isn't total crap and I will probably be buying used off craigslist so I will need a range of ideas to choose from. 

Lastly once I am able to break into the outdoors how should my training change?  I live in a very urban area and so long distance riding will be aways from the house. 

On the exercise bike I was able to ride the first 60 mins at 17+ miles an hour with the resistance set to 2 (it maxes at 10).  The last 30 mins I slowed to 15.5 to 16 miles and hour and that was a lot due to the fact that my butt was killing me.  I would like to work up to more speed and higher resistance.  Do I need to concentrate on long distance rides more on the exercise bike or do I build up strength and speed first doing shorter distances at higher speeds and higher resistances?  also I own a smith machine so I can do weight training as well - you can add that to my list of advice.

thanks in advance and I will be lurking and posting on this forum more often
Dan