Countdown to my first Tri.

victoria R.
on 3/8/09 8:50 am - goose creek, SC
Hey
Well this time next week it will be over, my first sprint tri will be this Saturday.  I started training for this event mid November & it's been challenging and it has gotten me out of my comfort zone.  I've done 2 5k's a 15K and a half marathon since Jan. of this year.  I have been swimming but I'm still not very fast, done loads of indoor cycling but just recently started getting out on the road.  I am using my husbands Schwinn mtn. bike.  I really like riding and if I decide to continue riding I will invest in a road bike.  I am really hoping I can finish this event gracefully without hurting myself or looking like a big klutzo.  If any of you out there can offer some advice for me this week it would be much appreciated.  I have my bags ready and a check list together but I'm already having major anxiety and even dreaming about forgetting something or not having the power to run, crazy stuff... If any of you can share some of your week before tri tips I would appreciate it.

Vicki
290/253/200/175
Highest/Surgery/Current/GOAL

Sherry_Berry
on 3/8/09 9:56 am - Dacula, GA
I'm assuming it's a pool swim?
What's on your checklist?
Do you know your USAT rules?

One word of advice if you can get to a bike shop...
I'm assuming you have fat knobby tires b/c you said mountain bike. You will get a lot of speed back if you go to the shop and pick up smooth tires...unless it's a course on a dirt trail like an xterra.

Have you practiced running immediately after biking?

Also, HYDRATION HYDRATION HYDRATION. If you are used to gels, I'd take one before the swim...maybe even before the run.

Anyhoo-how exciting! Your first tri! Next thing you know you'll be signing up for an IRONMAN!
victoria R.
on 3/8/09 11:12 am - goose creek, SC