Introducing myself!

BOS02215
on 3/8/09 4:09 am
Hello everyone!  My name is Suzi, I live in southern CA and I have been lurking around the fitness board for awhile so I thought I would say hello!

I had RNY in July 2008 and participated in my first 5K/Obstacle course about 2 months after that and I loved it! I didn't end up running more than 1/2 a mile of the whole thing but I really enjoyed it.  

I have been running on the treadmill off and on since then and I just signed up for a 5k over memorial day weekend. Nothing like a deadline to motivate a training regimen. I am hoping to run the entire 5k this time and I welcome any and all tips and tricks!

(deactivated member)
on 3/8/09 5:36 am - Mt Pleasant, IA
Hi!
I'm still a newbie here so no tips or tricks from me, but instead just a hi and welcome.

JJ
Seht
on 3/8/09 5:52 am
Welcome!

From another former treadmill runner, a couple points
1.  Add incline to your run on the treadmill.  It is much much much easier to run on the treadmill than it is on the street.   Check out this site http://www.trinewbies.com/tno_running/run_treadmill_chart.as p

2.  Make sure you get some real road runs in.  I recently had to shift from the treadmill to the road.  I found that my body takes much more pounding on the road.  The treadmill is cushioned, and there is no wind resistance, or uneven pavement to deal with.

3.  I find that I actually run faster on the road because I am able to take a full natural stride instead of the little shuffle strides I get on the treadmill.  What this means is that I have to monitor my pace, because I tend to expend more energy on the street and tire out quicker.  Where I can run a 5k on the treadmill, I am huffing and puffing after a mile on the street.