Rants & Blues

Seht
on 3/1/09 1:38 am
I just need to rant and then move on.

Did you ever feel like you had to fight an uphill battle to do something that you didn't even want to do in the first place?
  Well this is how I'm feeling right now.  I have been exercising pretty consistently for the last 2+ years.  I have been going to the gym 3-5 days a week as well as adding in some additional exercise such as riding my bike to work or on the weekends.  I have completed to sprint-triathlons and 3 races ranging in length from 2 mile to 6.2 miles.  That may not sound like much, but for someone who absolutely hates to run, it's quite a lot.  Let me tell you how much I hate to run.  I failed P.E. in High School because I refused to run laps.  It's no fun being the fat kid and having to run.  It's no fun failing the presidential physical fitness test every year.  You get the idea.  So for me to have committed 2 years to exercise is a major accomplishment.
  I have made exercise part of my new lifestyle.  It was a daily routine for me.  Get up; go to the gym, shower and go to work.  It was routine.  The gym was convenient, it was warm and secure, and it was available during the hours I had available to work out.  The most important part is I was doing it. 
  Well I had to give up my gym membership because of financial reasons, and I have had to give up on any idea of running any triathlons this year.  I am signed up for one, but I had a whole race season planned out.  I have already missed out on 1 race, and 1 long distance bike ride.  These races are my motivation, my goal, and my focus that helps me to keep exercising.  Without them, I have no reason to go to the gym, (blah, blah, blah do it for your health. Well that has never worked for me in the past, and it won't work now.  If it would have, I never would have gotten as fat as I did.  Competition is what keeps me focused, not some ideal).