Help---Getting ready to start running

LoveToCruise
on 2/21/09 12:13 am - Abilene, TX
Hello,

I had surgery on Jan 12th and I am itching to start running. I have been walking about 2-3 miles a day. My goal is to run in the Disney Princess 1/2 Marathon next March. I have NEVER been a runner so I don't know much about it but I am reading a couple of books to get an idea. I would like to know from you all things like did you change your eating (everything I read is about carbs which we are supposed to have sparingly) at what weight do you think it is ok to start running without causing injuries (I am at about 235 now highest was 280),  what do I need to get started, and any other advice you can give me.  Since I am new to running should I start with a couch to 5K before I start the 1/2 marathon training plan or do I just dive in ? Thanks for any info/encouragement you can provide. I am sooooo excited I have always wanted to be a runner!!! 
2009---My year to shine !

Please check out my website below:
pages.teamintraining.org/ntx/wdw10/tmarshabo6

Strongone
on 2/21/09 1:08 am, edited 2/21/09 1:09 am
hello