I WANNA DO A 5K RUN!

Derek T.
on 1/5/09 11:30 pm - Miami Lakes, FL
This is my first time posting here, so I'll give a short intro.

I'm Derek from Miami. I had the lap band procedure done in Jan. 2008 and have lost 123lbs to date. My goal for 2008 was to begin the process of losing weight and work towards laying the foundation for a healthy life. Now, in 2009 I want to push the envelope a bit further and get more atlethic. I did a 5K walk for Diabetes a few months in October of 2008 and love it. After reading some of your posts I have a new goal for 2009...I WANT TO COMPLETE A 5K RUN!!!!

Can you all give me some suggestions on preparing for a 5K. Even though I do loads of cardio, I still find running for more than 5-6 minutes to be diffilcult. I can get up to 7.5 on the elliptical machine, but running on the treadmill is a killer. Perhaps at 299 lbs. I'm still too heavy for running?

Also, where can I find out about 5K's in my area? I'm in Miami, Florida and would travel in the southern region to participate in races.

Please help...I'm excited about 2009!

D

"Never allow anyone to place a "period" in your life. Other people may add commas, or dashes and semi-colons, but only GOD can end the sentence!"

Seht
on 1/6/09 12:00 am
Congrats, and good luck with 2009. 

http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

This is a nice easy program that got me through a 5k.

http://www.runmiami.com/

http://www.active.com/running/

This is from Active
http://search.active.com/?tab=events&q=&start_date=&end_date =&l=Miami%2C+Florida&p=0&channel=Running&mediatype=&int=&com mit.x=21&commit.y=17

Carnaval Miami Calle Ocho 8k Feb 27, 2009 Miami, FL 0.46 miles away
No Tropical 5K Jan 24, 2009 Miami - Miami Beach, FL 1.03 miles away
No Celebrity 5K Mar 22, 2009 Miami - Miami Beach, FL 1.03 miles away
No ING Miami Marathon & Half Marathon Jan 25, 2009 Miami - Miami Beach, FL 1.03 miles away