My first 5k was yesterday!

PplAmanda
on 10/12/08 10:57 am - Benton, AR
I completed the Arkansas Race for the Cure yesterday.  There was a group of 6 us from work. I was worried seeing as how I have never done a 5k before. We walked instead of ran, which is what the majority of the 46,000 women did who participated this year.

It might not seem much, but hauling 340 pounds 3.1 miles ain't easy. I am very grateful that I have dropped almost 50 lbs before trying this. I am excited to keep moving. I have set a walking goal each week and hope to be jogging soon.  I love reading everyone elses expriences. You all are a great source of inspiration.
Cassie W.
on 10/12/08 11:15 am
Congratulations on your first 5K!  Incorporating fitness into your new lifestyle will keep you motivated through your weight loss journey and help you enjoy long-term success.  Celebrate those milestones!

Cassie
"Hard things take time to do. Impossible things take a little longer."

Linn D.
on 10/12/08 11:33 am - Missoula, MT
Great job completing your first 5k!!!

I was talking to a gal at my gym today and she knows I run and was saying the race she did was "just a 5k."  There's no such thing as "just" an anything in my book.  Anyone getting out there and doing it deserves congratulations and a fabulous pat on the back.  It IS somthing special.

I love to hear people just starting out and seeing how excited they are to complete something new or have a milestone.  Fitness and exercise are what is going to keep you healthy over the long haul, and I'm happy for you that you are starting out sooner rather than later.

Thanks for sharing this, and congratulations on your first 5k!!!

Linn
Vampi
on 10/12/08 12:11 pm - Mandeville, LA
YAY!! Good job!  I just signed up for my first 5k today!  I am so excited about doing it.

Are you going to do another one?

HIGHEST 273.5 / PREOP 263.5 / CURRENT 198 / GOAL 161.5

DANCBJAMMIN
on 10/12/08 12:47 pm - Fort Worth, TX