Certain way to jog?

karen_2007
on 10/7/08 2:27 am - Hamburg, AR
Hi all! I have a question about jogging. I have been doing a walk and jog video for the last 4 months. I tried jogging outside, but it seems to hurt my knees when I jog and I get tired a lot easier. Is there a certain method to learning how to jog? I know it sounds silly, but I've always wanted to jog/run, but my weight stopped me. I am now down to 204 lbs and want to start jogging the correct way. I've been walking 2-2 1/2 hrs a day to get in a good amount of exercise, but it takes too much time out of my day. I think jogging would benefit me in more than one way. Can anyone help me with this? Thanks in advance!
Karen
Linn D.
on 10/7/08 2:55 pm - Missoula, MT
Karen,

A lot of local running clubs offer coaching for newbies.  That's something you might want to look into.

Walking is good, but running really is a whole new gig.  It might be a good idea to see an orthopedic surgeon to be sure it's okay to run.  Sometimes they can help you with your gait as well, or send you to a PT who can.  I started running when I was about your weight.  I used to have a lot more knee pain than I do now, but I've also been running for quite a while.

The shoes will make all the difference in the world.  The right shoe for your foot and gait will help prevent a lot of injuries because it provides support where you need it so your foot strike will be correct.  A good running store can help you figure this out because they will watch you walk or run and suggest shoes accordingly.  Using the wrong shoe could be one thing causing your knee pain.  The money spent on the right shoes is well worth it.